Vacation Post-Mortem

Vacation.

I breathe a huge sigh of relief the day we drive (or fly) away. Why? Because I’ve done all I can. All the laundry that can be done is done. The house is either left clean, or it’s not. Hopefully, I’ve finished any work tasks or projects that might loom over my head. I’ve set up my email auto-reply and my vacation voicemail and packed my bags. If I’ve forgotten something, there isn’t anything I can do.

This past weekend, we attended a wedding (kid-free!) in Temecula, California. We added an extra day to the trip for relaxing and exploring the area. This post isn’t really about the trip itself, but if you’re ever planning a trip to the area, I highly recommend a stay at The Inn at Europa Village. Chef Dean’s breakfasts are phenomenal. The Europa Village winery was one of our favorites, and we also stopped in at Peltzer, Chapin Family Vineyards, Doffo Winery, and Avensole Winery (where the wedding was held – gorgeous venue). If you’re hungry, Goat & Vine, The Public House, and 1909 are all great places to dine. The sun was shining. The weather was wonderful. We met up with friends, old and new. It was a great weekend.

Then…and then…we came home. It’s like all of those things I did before we left, in hopes I wouldn’t return to a disaster, didn’t even happen. The laundry regenerated. That empty work to-do list piled right back up in my absence. The girl had to be taken to soccer practice. I had a Derby themed event I’d agreed to attend and only one day to buy and assemble a hat. Sheets and towels need to be washed and the house needs to be cleaned to prepare for another set of house guests this weekend. (This is not me complaining. I love having company!)

To cap it all off, I haven’t managed a decent night of sleep since we returned. What is that about? I didn’t have any trouble adjusting to the bed at the bed & breakfast in California, but I have to deal with an adjustment period returning home??? So frustrating.

It will all be fine. I’m still smiling and loving life. I am so thankful for the weekend away. I think my brain still wants to be on vacation. I’m having trouble catching back up and finding my “normal” rhythm again. I have a vacation hangover.

Please tell me I’m not the only one who does this! What do you find hardest about returning home from travel?

Leave a comment