Run – Rapunzel Running Costume

disney-tangled-flynn-rapunzel-pascal-mothergothel-tangled-17082299-1920-1200

There are only 44 days left until the 2013 Disney Princess Half Marathon, and it is time to talk costume. When I signed up for the race, I asked Neely which princess I should dress up as. Her request, without hesitation, was Rapunzel, so I’m running as Rapunzel for my baby girl. I really dig this picture of her, by the way. She looks ready to kick some butt.

y

I’ve had several months to scour the internet for inspiration, and I’m finally ready to share what I’ve found. This is the inspiration board I created on Polyvore. I’ve given it a lot of thought, and I am not going to make the entire costume myself. I don’t have enough experience with activewear and stretchy material to be confident that I won’t be a chafed disaster after 13.1 miles in my own handiwork. I’m going to order a fun, sparkly skirt and visor from Team Sparkle. I’ll probably take a pair of purple leggings in addition to the shorts, just in case the weather is cool. (But let’s get real. It’s going to feel positively tropical compared to what I’m used to.)

I found a couple of tops to give me ideas. I have a tank that I’m going to embellish myself. I’ll be adding the criss-crossed ribbon down the middle to look like the bodice of Rapunzel’s dress, and I’m also going to add some sleeves like these:

IMG_9561

Only mine will be pink and purple. The tutorial for the Snow White sleeves can be found on This Mama Makes Stuff.

The hair is still up for debate. I don’t feel really comfortable about running in a wig for so long. I’ve also read that you’re supposed to train in your costume, to be sure you can run in it, and I am absolutely NOT showing up at the base gym in a long, blonde wig. Not happening.

While scouring Pinterest last night, I finally found something I may be able to live with – yarn braids attached to the visor. You can see the picture here. It seems a little funny to post someone else’s race pic on my blog, so you’ll have to venture away from here if you want to see it.

il_570xN.406526017_tspp

The piece de resistance? Pascal. Isn’t he so super cute? I love him. He’s the cutest little amigurumi I’ve ever seen. Oh, yes. You will be mine, little buddy.

I think that’s all. I’m excited to get it all pulled together. I can hardly believe the race is barely over 6 weeks away!

6 thoughts on “Run – Rapunzel Running Costume

  1. Jamie says:

    I can’t wait to see the finished product! On your way home from the race you should drop in for Ellyce’s Rapunzel party πŸ™‚

  2. Beth says:

    I am also dressing up as Rapunzel for the race. Your ideas look amazing, hope I run into you to see how it all comes together. Good luck!

Leave a comment