White Wine Bundt Cake

DSC_0021

On Sunday, I made a bundt cake to share with friends. Since I have seen My Big Fat Greek Wedding approximately 42,016 times, bundt cakes always make me think of this scene…

Thankfully, my cake received a little bit better reception than poor Harry Miller’s did.

The best thing about this recipe? It’s super simple – just boxed mix with a few extras added in. Simple is good, because when I see a scratch cake recipe, I get heart palpitations. Mostly, it’s to do with the fact that I don’t like dirtying five bowls and 12 spoons to make one cake.

DSC_0022

White Wine Bundt Cake

1 box yellow cake mix (the original recipe specified to use Duncan Hines, but I’m a rebel and used Betty Crocker)

3/4 cup vegetable oil

1 small box vanilla instant pudding (3.4 oz.)

3/4 cup water

4 eggs

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup white wine

1/2 cup sugar

2 tsp. cinnamon

Combine all ingredients, mixing well. Pour into a greased bundt cake pan, and bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes.

Glaze

1 stick unsalted butter

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup white wine

In a small saucepan, combine butter, sugar, and water. Bring to a boil and let simmer for 2 minutes. Remove from heat and add white wine. Drizzle over cooled cake.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment