History or Hysteria

It’s here. Election Day 2016. Hillary Clinton vs. Donald Trump comes to a close. I don’t know what your social media accounts look like, but if mine is any indication, the world might end if the “wrong person” is elected. Who is the wrong person? Well, that depends entirely on who you ask.

People are freaking out. I haven’t witnessed this level of panic since Y2K. It’s unreal.

As for me? I believe in the Bible. While I don’t claim to have its entirety memorized or be a great scholar, I have yet to find a place where it says, “When America elects fill in the blank for President, I’m closing up shop. This mess is DONE.” This outcome is already known by the only one that matters, by my God, who is in control.

“Do not fear, for I am with you; do not be afraid, for I am your God. I will strengthen you; I will help you; I will hold on to you with my righteous right hand.” — Isaiah 41:10

Yes, this outcome will affect me, you, all of us who call ourselves Americans, but I do trust that God can use anything, anyone for good, for His glory, to further His plan.

For that reason, I’m actually feeling calm today. Yes, today is important. Whether this is “the most important election in history” remains to be seen. When will we even know that? In 5 years? 20 years? 50 years? Whatever will be, will be. We’ll all vote today and make our contribution, but regardless of who is chosen as the next POTUS, the earth will keep on turning.

Come tomorrow, wouldn’t it be great if we could go back to being a team? I don’t think, realistically, that it will be that easy, but isn’t it a lovely dream?

“For in Him we live and move and exist.” –Acts 17:28

Leave a Reply

