North Dakota Sunflowers

A little something a didn’t know about before I moved to North Dakota? The sunflowers. There are fields and fields of them all around us in this part of the state. I can’t actually tell you about everywhere else, as I haven’t left Minot since June. But here, you can’t drive anywhere without seeing them right now. They are beautiful.

I mean, I knew sunflowers are beautiful. I’ve seen a few of them here and there in my lifetime, but I had no idea how incredible it is to see an entire field of them. The kids and I finally went out and find some to take photos of yesterday. When we started out, I was afraid we wouldn’t have much luck. The first few fields we visited, the flowers were already looking droopy and sad.

Not to worry. We found some good sunflowers before it all was said and done.

Sunflowers-4

Oh, look! There’s an adorable little girl out there, too!

Frolicking in sunflowers isn’t for you if you are afraid of bees. They’re everywhere!

Sunflowers-7

There are no pictures of the boy. He didn’t want to get out of the car.

Sunflowers-10

I’m glad I remembered to bring my LensBaby. This photo is my favorite. That isn’t a filter – the lens actually bends the light to make the image blurry. It’s so cool!

Now that we’ve seen the sunflowers up close and personal, my summer 2014 bucket list is complete. School, you may commence. In a week.

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “North Dakota Sunflowers

  1. Robin Ritter says:

    GORGEOUS!!! There used to be a field of sunflowers close to our house which have been gone for years and I miss them. Such a beautiful sight to see. So glad to see your pictures and learn about LENSBABY. Aunt Robin

  2. Margaret says:

    she is so adorable! love these

Leave a Reply

