I fell off the wagon.

OK, so I didn’t completely fall off. I haven’t quit running altogether. But that training program I chose for November? It was pretty ambitious, especially for someone who practically took a running hiatus all winter. I am officially switching to the “finish in the upright position” plan. Time improvement. Ha! What was I thinking?

IMG_0004

I am not, however, ashamed of my mileage for July. Don’t make fun of me. Yes, I still use a paper calendar. I need visual reminders of what I’ve got going on, without having to get into my phone or computer. I started writing my mileage for the day in a bright yellow highlighter so I could see how well/horribly I’m doing. 42 miles, y’all. Not too shabby.

I haven’t done a long run over 6 miles yet. On the old plan, I should be running 9 for my long run this week. On the new plan, next week I should be at 6.5, so I’m right on track. I feel certain this will all be much easier to accomplish once the kids start school in a few weeks. I’ve just got to hang in there until then.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “I fell off the wagon.

  1. jillrunsnm says:

    I made the same decision about my marathon training. I was exhausted and dreading my runs. I finally admitted to myself that I was going to either quit or end up injured if I continued the plan. No I am on the “just get across the finish line” plan and so much happier. Keep up the good work! (I use a paper chart as well – with stickers!) 🙂

  2. Candy says:

    I totally copied your highlighter idea!!! I love writing my miles on the calendar when I get back from running now! lol! 😉

Leave a Reply

