Wine & Dine Race Training – Week 1

Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 4.44.59 PM

It’s that time again. Time for me to lose the excuses and run, run, run!

I used Jeff Galloway’s training program found on the runDisney website to train for the Princess Half last year, and it worked out pretty well. I decided to stick with his plan, but I’m attempting the time improvement version this time around. I reserve the right to switch to the “finish in the upright position” plan later, though. I’m still working out exactly what I’m meant to do for some of these runs.

Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 4.48.12 PMWeek 1 began on Tuesday. Although, I don’t do Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday. I like to do my runs on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. I’m rebellious like that. Oh, and I also don’t run-walk-run. I just run. And when I can’t, I walk. I don’t stick to the interval thing, though.

I ran my first 4 miles on Monday in the family room at the gym. I’ve been running a few times a week over the last month to rebuild my endurance, so this wasn’t too terrible. I only wish the treadmills in our family room faced the kids’ area. I feel very fortunate that I didn’t fall off while breaking up one of the many cat fights my children engaged in on Monday morning. I’m using the term “morning” loosely. It was 11:15 before we dragged ourselves down there. At least we made it.

On Wednesday, I tried something different. There’s a middle school nearby with a fenced track. I loaded up the kids, some water bottles, and a few toys, and we headed there. I managed another 4 miles, and no one started begging to go home until I was on my last mile.

In the interim, I’ve been adding cross-training. I did part of a PiYo workout on Tuesday, until the YouTube channel on my Apple TV wouldn’t load any more of it. Of course, the whole thing worked later the same night. Yesterday, I joined my neighbor out in the front yard for a workout. (Thanks, Jenn!)

Today, I ran my 4.5 miles in the family room again. Everyone got along, but MAN, it was hot. (Our gym isn’t air conditioned.) It wasn’t until I finished that I realized the giant fan was turned off. I will be double-checking that next time. It was a rough 4.5 miles. About 2 miles in, I was sure I wouldn’t be able to finish. I’m happy to say that I did, and Week 1 is complete.

I plan to spend the weekend resting, so I can begin again on Monday!

 

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

