Tech Talk Tuesday – Rock My Run App

Tuesdays-On-The-Run1-300x266

This is my first time linking up for Tuesdays on the Run, hosted Run the Great Wide Somewhere, No-Guilt Life, and MCM Mama Runs. This week’s topic? Technology.

When I started my running journey four years ago, I had an iPod nano, an incredibly uncomfortable pair of ear buds, and some really terrible tennis shoes. I trained for my first half marathon doing the old run-and-drive-the-route routine to figure out how far I’d gone. I didn’t want to invest in a GPS watch until I knew if this running thing was a phase or if it would stick.

I think it’s stuck. 🙂 I have all kinds of gadgetry now. My favorites are my Forerunner 10, my iPod shuffle, and my YurBuds.

The latest thing I’m trying out is an app on the iPhone called “Rock My Run.” This is a slight break from the norm for me, because I prefer to run with my shuffle and not my big, bulky, Otter-Boxed phone. The app is free, though, so I decided to give it a shot. The idea of a ready-to-go playlist that I don’t have to sit at the computer and painstakingly compile appeals to me. A lot.

There are several ways you can search for a playlist in Rock My Run – by genre, beats per minute, length, etc.

IMG_0008

 

IMG_0007

Many of the shorter playlists are free. I downloaded a few 30-minute mixes to my phone to try. I did notice that when you start looking at 60-minute and longer playlists, you need a premium subscription to have access. The subscription cost is $4.99 for 1 month, or $35.99 for 12 months. So far, I’m only using the free version.

IMG_0001

I jumped on the treadmill last night and ran with this baby for the first time. I know. It’s shameful. It’s summertime, and I’m running on a treadmill. I just couldn’t face running in 25mph winds. I’m not a big fan of having my own breath blown back into my face for half an hour.

What is on the Summer Throwback list? I’m glad you asked. It’s pretty great.

IMG_0002

IMG_0003

 

Well, it was pretty great, until I realized that “throwback” now means high school and college for me. Geez. Make me feel old, why don’t ya? I blame the infants working at Rock My Run. Or the infant DJ who created this list. Somewhere, an infant is responsible.

I’ve only used this app once so far. I hope I still like it when I actually take it to the street. Thank goodness I’ve got a FlipBelt I can put the phone in. I’m not crazy about those armband phone holder majiggers. I do love not having to try and fast forward past those too-slow songs that I added to my running playlist in a moment of insanity. Everything (in the Summer Throwback list anyway) had a good, upbeat tempo that kept me motivated even though it was crazy-hot in the gym. I also liked that each song seamlessly flowed into the next without that dead air where I wonder what’s coming next, whether I need to slow down to find the fast forward button, whether or not I brushed my teeth last night, etc.

Has anyone else tried this app? Or something else to aid in running? I’d love to hear about it!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Tech Talk Tuesday – Rock My Run App

  1. When I first started running all I had was my ipod as well. I think it was the nano! It had the Nike fitness app on it that told you how far you went and all but it wasn’t very accurate. I later found out that you had to calibrate it. Even after the calibration I have still found my garmin to be more accurate ( and I don’t have to listen to the lady’s voice on the nike app)

    • snapeatrun says:

      Ugh, don’t get me started on Nike and their calibration. I tried their GPS watch first, and I could NEVER get the shoe pod calibrated. And nanos are awesome! I still have mine. 🙂

  2. d20girl says:

    I’m so bad about updating my playlist, I’m embarrassed to admit it but I haven’t updated it since the Princess Half Marathon 18 months ago! So this app sounds like a great one for me to try. Thanks for linking up with us today!

  3. Coco says:

    I haven’t used Rock My Run in a while — I just recycle my old playlists (although I do have one I made this calendar year) — but I should switch things up. To use it away from home I downloaded the playlist before I left so it wouldn’t need cell service.

  4. Tiwana says:

    I use rockmyrun every day every run every workout! It changed everything. Im faster better stronger. Im premium!

Leave a Reply

