Who’s the boss?

“Cease striving and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in all the earth.”

Psalm 46:10

I’ve been MIA for a little bit. To the handful of you who’ve actually missed me, I apologize for that. Life is happening, and lately, it seems to be happening at an ever-quickening pace. I may discuss that later in the week, but not today.

Coincidentally, the message that is coming through loud and clear in everything I’ve been reading in my Bible, hearing in sermons, seeing in my devotional books is this: God is in control. Not me. Never me. God. I need to let it go. Ha! See what I did there? Referencing popular culture? I’m so cool.

I got another lesson about who is in charge this morning. I thought my day was going pretty well. I got up early, without hitting the snooze button on my alarm. I went for a run. I walked the dog. I packed my boy’s lunch and fed him breakfast. I unloaded the dishwasher, started a load of laundry, and even managed to feed myself before 8:00am. When it was time to drive my little man to school….no keys. I searched in all the usual places before I remembered that I’d set them on John’s bumper after running an errand last night, and I was pretty sure they had still been there when he left for work this morning.

Thankfully, we weren’t running behind, so I switched gears and walked Aidan to school. Also thankfully, we don’t live very far from his school. I checked the street and the first couple of turns John would have made on his way to work on our walk home and didn’t find the keys. My only hope was that they’d somehow managed to safely ride the bumper all the way to work with him, and that I could call and ask him to retrieve them for me.

When I came back inside, there was a message on my phone from an unfamiliar number. Someone found my keys! In the street! And he called the number on my Petco card to track me down! I had my keys back within 30 minutes of noticing they were missing. God is good. I couldn’t have planned that myself.

I’m glad I rolled with the punches and never truly got upset about this today, because like that verse up there says, I’ve got to quit trying so hard and let God be God. 🙂

One thought on “Who’s the boss?

  1. Margaret says:

    good word :):)

Leave a Reply

