It’s almost Valentine’s Day!

DSC_0188We’ve been getting ready for Valentine’s Day around here! This year, I have completely abandoned the Pinterest project boards. My feed has been bombarded with pink and red pretty much since the day after Christmas. And here’s the thing. I love Pinterest. I really do. Sometimes, though, spending too much time on the site does nothing but make me feel bad about myself for not taking time to assemble cute handmade goodies for both my kids’ classes. Other times, I fall in with the masses and am one of the four moms that hand out Reindeer Noses at Christmas. This Valentine’s Day, I resolved not to let all those uber-creative moms sharing their projects on the interwebs get me down. I spent $5 at Wal-Mart on boxed cards, and these little guys loved them. They had fun signing the cards and adding stickers, and that is all that matters.

We did put a little more effort into the boy’s Valentine box. BUT, I am proud to say, I did not use the internet to find an idea. We brainstormed, decided on a course of action, and I figured out a way to make it happen all by myself. It’s another good reminder that I don’t need to rely on other people to be creative for me.

What kind of box did he make?

DSC_0190

A Lego! I know. It’s really not that hard to execute. I’m proud of it anyway. He was proud of it too, until some jerk kid knocked one of the pegs off the top as soon as he got it to school. Sorry if it’s your jerk kid I’m talking about, but seriously? Who does that? Meany pants.

I’m trying not to dwell on it. I am getting excited about the heart-shaped pizzas that we’re celebrating with this year. Oh, yes. Valentine’s Day at our house is fancy. 🙂

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

