Kicks

When it comes to buying new running shoes, I have terrible luck. It seems that when it is time to replace a pair – you know, when I can’t run without my IT band and shins screaming – the ones I need/want are no longer available. Anywhere.

Screen Shot 2014-02-01 at 4.34.42 PM

The first time it happened, I’d completely worn out a pair of Mizuno Nirvanas. They were amazing. Like running on a cloud, and it didn’t hurt that they were kind of fun-looking. I loved them. Then? Gone. Mizuno decided to quit making the Nirvana. I scoured the web for them to no avail. I finally admitted defeat, took the advice of a local running shop associate, and replaced them with a pair of Mizuno Wave Inspire 9.

Screen Shot 2014-02-01 at 4.35.13 PMIt was an added bonus that the colors were pretty fun again. It was almost (but not quite) like running in the Nirvana. I really miss that stretchy mesh toe box. These babies have served me well, but I’ve been starting to get those telltale signs that it’s time for a new pair. I made my way to the running shop again and….nope. They’re making a new version, and I can’t have my old shoes.

I searched the Internet again. I feel like I’m always the last to know. Everyone was all sold out in my size again. I would have taken the ugliest color imaginable just to get the same kind, but no. Nothing. Not even on Amazon. So much for being able to find anything you want on Amazon. I can find anything but my favorite running shoes.

It took me two months to get over it and go back to the shop to try on the new version, the Wave Inspire 10.

Screen Shot 2014-02-01 at 4.29.57 PMWhat do you think? I think they’re kind of hideous. Maybe they’ll turn out to be awesomely bad. They still feel pretty good, but the color choices? Ugh. In my opinion, the yellow was the least bad. The only ones our store had in stock were these…

Screen Shot 2014-02-01 at 4.48.11 PMThey do absolutely nothing for me. I’m not really crazy about white shoes. I had to special order the yellow. They’ll be here in a week. I’m embracing them. I’ll be the girl at the gym with highlighter feet, ’cause I’m cool like that.

Does anyone else have this problem with running shoes? I can’t be the only unlucky one, can I? Commiserate with me.

Also, Mizuno? If you’re reading, the man at Mile One and I agree that you need to bring Nirvanas back. We miss them.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Kicks

  1. Stephanie says:

    That is a pretty hideous shoe. I have the Wave Rider 15 as my suitcase shoe. I like them well enough, but not as well as my Brooks Ravenna. I luckily live above one of the best running store in NYC.

Leave a Reply

