The Best Hummus Ever

The best hummus ever. It’s a bold statement to make, I know. I discovered this recipe a few months ago and never looked back. Sayonara, store-bought hummus! This hummus is super smooth and fluffy. It almost has the consistency of frosting. Creamy, dreamy hummus. Okay, enough adjectives already!

What’s the trick? Peel your chickpeas. I always buy canned chickpeas, because I don’t have the patience to soak them myself. Once you drain the can of chickpeas, put the pointy end of a chickpea between your thumb and index finger, and give it a little squeeze. The chickpea pops right out of its skin. Turn on some tunes, and you’ll be done in no time. It usually takes me 10-15 minutes, but it is so worth it.

DSC_0018

Naked Chickpeas

Ethereally Smooth Hummus (recipe from Smitten Kitchen)

15-ounce can chickpeas, drained and peeled

1/2 cup tahini paste

2 tbsp. freshly squeezed lemon juice

2 small cloves garlic, roughly chopped

3/4 tsp. salt, or more to taste

Approx. 1/4 cup water

 

In a food processor, blend chickpeas until they look like coarse crumbs.

Chickpea Crumbs

Chickpea Crumbs

Add tahini, lemon juice, garlic, and salt, and puree until well blended, scraping down the sides if necessary. With the food processor running, add water 1 tablespoon at a time until the hummus is light and creamy.

That’s IT!

DSC_0026

I always eat my hummus on carrots, but you could also serve it with pita wedges or chips. Smitten Kitchen recommends drizzling it with olive oil and sprinkling paprika over the top. I don’t do that, but I’m sure it’s delicious.

A few notes, if you don’t think the hummus tastes garlicky enough right out of the food processor, don’t panic. The garlic flavor will get stronger once it’s been in the fridge for a while.

If you’re trying to cut down on sodium, skip the salt. I forgot it once, and my hummus, while not as salty, still tasted great.

This is what the tahini paste that I use looks like. I know it’s sometimes tricky hunting for an ingredient you’ve never seen before. I searched for weeks before I finally found it. They keep it in the Mediterranean section of my grocery store.

DSC_0019

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

