Homemade Taco Seasoning

DSC_0035

So you like tacos. I do, too. Around here, we eat a lot of tacos. They’re on the menu at least once a week, and in between times, we eat the leftovers. I tried this homemade taco seasoning back when I began my 24-Day Challenge. It was in a cookbook we were using to get recipe ideas, and I love it! I have adapted the recipe from the original just a little bit, and multiplied it to make more than one meal’s worth at a time.

DSC_0029You need these guys.

DSC_0031And these two. They somehow missed the original lineup, and I’d already started using things and was too lazy to arrange them all again.

DSC_0030This photo isn’t really important. I was just amused that the off-brand of spices at my local store are called Fancy Pantry. I guess that makes this fancy taco seasoning.

Taco Seasoning:

1/2 cup chili powder

2 tsp. garlic powder

2 tsp. onion powder

2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

2 tsp. dried oregano

4 tsp. paprika

4 tsp. ground cumin

8 tsp. sea salt

8 tsp. ground black pepper

DSC_0032

Throw ’em all in a bowl, mix it well, and jar it up! This makes about 1 cup of taco seasoning.

When it’s taco time, add 3-4 tablespoons of taco seasoning to cooked ground beef or turkey, along with one 8-ounce can of tomato sauce. Simmer for about 5 minutes, and you’re ready to go!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

