Pray for Boston

Screen shot 2013-04-15 at 9.45.31 PM

I am just heartsick over the events in Boston this afternoon – as a runner and as a human being. Here are some of the most inspiring individuals in the running community, incredible athletes, and they have been attacked. Not only the athletes, but their families, the people who have supported them, encouraged them, and who stood on the sidelines nearest the explosions today. What should have been a triumphant day turned into a horror. Some runners who expected to be crossing a finish line today have lost their legs. Their worlds have been forever changed.

And the only thing I can do from nearly 2,000 miles away is pray. Because these are my people. I may not be as fast, or as dedicated, but their stories have inspired me to keep running regardless.

I’ve been seeing a lot of encouragement among the running community to wear a race shirt tomorrow to show your support for Boston. If you feel led to do so, please participate. I will be. I hardly know what else to do.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

