Project – Bathroom Painting

DSC_0107

When we moved into the house back in October, we chose gray as the color for our master bath. It’s neutral. It looked pretty good with the white walls. It was easy to find. Target had a gray shower curtain and towels that we liked, so it was done.

After looking at white and gray all winter long, inside and outside, the bathroom was feeling dreary. I enlisted the help of my SilhouetteΒ to solve the problem.

DSC_0057

I started by dividing a square canvas into quarters. I usedΒ charcoal to draw the lines. It’s easy to wipe them off with a damp cloth after you have the pattern taped off. Once I had the frog tape on in a chevron pattern, I wiped off the lines in between the stripes before painting. I chose yellow paint for the chevrom, because I love yellow and gray together.

DSC_0059

I used my Silhouette and contact paper to make a stencil for the lettering. This font is called “Pharmacy.” You can get it for free at dafont.com. I used two coats of paint for the letters. I wanted to be sure they were dark enough. I had to do a little bit of touching up once I removed the contact paper, where the paint bled under the stencil.

DSC_0105

I added these hammer-in sawtooth hangers on either side to hang it. Easy peasy.

DSC_0108

Yes, I know that the “and” is a little crooked, and no, I don’t care. It doesn’t have to be perfect. I love it anyway.

And now, I will leave you with the inspiration. You have my husband to thank for this. He used to do the dance from this video all the time. πŸ™‚

Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Project – Bathroom Painting

  1. Robin says:

    Darling! And I love the yellow with gray – good job!

  2. Crystal says:

    I love this and want to try it. What did you use to cut out the stencil and get such clean lines?

  3. Ashley says:

    Would you ever considering making these for sales?

Leave a Reply

