My Granny

Mother's Day 2009

Mother’s Day 2009

This is a place I never imagined I’d be again so soon – trying to put the remembrance of a loved one into words. My Granny passed away late last night. Her death certificate will not say so, but I am fairly certain she died of a broken heart.

What can I say about my Granny? She was the most meticulous, organized, no-nonsense woman I have ever had the pleasure of knowing. I only wish I were half of her. My heart hurts, so I’ll do this the only way I know how.

My Granny and I, 2009

Granny and Me, 2009

Granny’s Sunday pot roast and rice pilaf were the best. Ever. Her favorite color was purple. She had a fly swatter within reach almost everywhere in her house. To see Granny with a baby in her arms was to capture pure joy on her face. She used to pay me one dollar each week to be quiet and pay attention in church. More often than not, she gave me that dollar even when I didn’t earn it – the perfect example of grace to a young child. She had the softest hands. She had a box of old costume jewelry in a dresser in the guest room, and I felt like a princess when she let me play with it. Dyeing Easter eggs at her kitchen table was the highlight of every spring. She kept rose bushes in the back yard, and I loved when she let me help cut the blooms. She was there when I lost my first tooth, eating an apple before Wednesday night church when I was five. She helped me wrap it carefully for the journey home. She gave me my first sewing machine – a gift that confused me at first. She must have known me better than I did; I love to sew now.

Granny & baby Aidan, 2006

Granny & baby Aidan, 2006

More important than all the memories I can conjure, my Granny loved. Once you were hers, you were hers forever. She loved beyond my comprehension sometimes – a true example of Jesus Christ’s love. By example, she taught me how to be a good mother. She was steady and strong.

My Granny’s death was unexpected, and the pain is acute. But if I really stop and think, it makes perfect sense. Granny and Grandad were married for 64 years – it would have been 65 this June. That’s 23,360 days and then some. Granny followed Grandad to heaven just 23 days after he left her. What else could she do? They belong together. They honored God with their marriage and their lives, and He did not see fit for her to suffer a broken heart any longer.

3 thoughts on “My Granny

  1. Candy says:

    Wow, Audra–so very sorry! 😦 Praying for you and your family!

  2. Norma Sharp says:

    I know you wrote about your precious granny through your tears and my heart aches for your pain and for the large family who are all grieving today. How blessed all of you have been to have had two people together leading their family by godly example.

  3. Cathy Cox says:

    Wow! What a wonderful memory honoring your Granny. You are a wonderful mom and friend. I miss you! I am so sorry your heart is hurting. So many vivid memories you have shared and I am so happy you are able to hold on to those precious times. Praying for you my friend. Love and Hugs-Cathy

Leave a Reply

