Eat – Avocado Egg Cups

DSC_0010

I got this idea for this breakfast through the family grapevine. My cousin made them for my aunt. My aunt told my parents. My mother told me about them, and since I had an avocado sitting in the kitchen, begging to be used for something, I decided to try it myself.

Cut an avocado in half, remove the pit, and scoop out enough of the insides to make room for the egg. (Save the extra for guacamole or to spread on a turkey sandwich or something. I do not believe in wasting avocado!) Balance each avocado half inside a ramekin or other small baking dish. Crack eggs into the halves, and bake for 20 minutes at 400 degrees.

I am trying to stick to my 24-Day Challenge diet as much as possible, but if I weren’t, I probably would have topped these with some cheese or bacon…or BOTH! They were delicious plain, but if you have no reason not to, get creative! Top these babies off! 🙂

Be sure to choose a large-ish avocado when you’re grocery shopping for these. The one I had on hand was a bit small, and a good bit of my egg whites spilled over. I’ve got a big ‘un waiting in the kitchen to try out for breakfast tomorrow. Happy eating!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

