Health – Taking My 24-Day Challenge On the Road

Let me start by saying this: if you are going to start the Advocare 24-Day Challenge, do not plan to do it while traveling. It ain’t easy. It wasn’t in my plan to do so, but life happened.

I packed five days’ worth of supplements in my suitcase. That was my first mistake. My flight from Minot to Minneapolis left an hour late. I had a short connection time anyway, so before we even landed in Minneapolis, I’d already missed the last flight to Nashville. I was put in a hotel for the night, told it would take hours to try and retrieve my bag, given a pathetic overnight kit, and sent on my way.

By the time I got to the hotel and was able to sit down to eat anywhere, it was 8:30pm, way off schedule. I did at least have the forethought to put a couple of Spark packets in my carry-on, so when I arrived back at the airport at 5:30am, I at least had that. I wasn’t able to take any of my Max Phase packets that day. I was able to keep to the suggested foods/meals for breakfast and lunch, but my evening meal was screwy again. Visitation was that night. There were food trays at the funeral home. I tried my hardest only to snack on fruit and vegetables, but I must confess to sneaking a few pieces of cheese. I miss cheese.

We didn’t make it to a restaurant for dinner until 8:30pm again, and it was Chuy’s. I was a really good girl and resisted the chips and dip. Mostly. I may have eaten 3 or 4, but who’s counting? I ordered chicken fajitas. I did eat two flour tortillas, but I filled them up with chicken, veggies, and guacamole. I also ate some beans. Okay, I ate all my beans.

Screen shot 2013-02-13 at 3.39.54 PM

Saturday was completely crazy, but I knew I would be running 14 miles that night. I allowed myself to eat whatever I wanted, keeping an eye on portion size. I didn’t want to attempt a long run completely carb-free. It would have been a disaster. I pulled off the run and felt better than I have on a long run in quite a while. I don’t know if that can be attributed to eating better, running lighter, or the way the Challenge is changing my body, but I was glad for it. I ran 14 miles in 2:27:51. This was the first time I’ve been able to run outside since November. I feel really ready for the Disney Princess Half Marathon now, though. It’s only 11 days away!

I’d like to be able to say I went straight back to my regimen on Sunday, but I didn’t. Again, I watched portions, but that’s about all. I was better on Monday. We went to a Japanese steakhouse for my cousin’s birthday, and I ordered extra veggies instead of rice. What??? I know. That takes willpower, doesn’t it?

I got back home yesterday, and I’ve been on the ball ever since. It’s so much easier at home. I don’t buy groceries I’m not allowed to eat, so they don’t tempt me. I’m on a schedule, so it’s easier to know when to take my supplements. And since I usually eat at home, they’re always there. I don’t forget to pack them on my way out the door, because I don’t need to.

I was really afraid to get on the scale this morning. I knew all that cheating had probably messed up my progress, and I didn’t really want to know how much. Thankfully, I only gained 1/2 a pound back. That should be easy to get back. I’m glad to be back in my routine. I want to finish out my 24-Day Challenge well!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

