Run – Disney Princess Half Marathon Costume

Race day is now two weeks away. That means in even less than that, I will be in the happiest place on earth! Eek! It couldn’t come at a better time. I need a little happy right about now.

I know I have shared this before, but when I registered for the Disney Princess Half Marathon and was choosing my bib, I asked my four-year-old daughter which princess she would like me to represent. Without hesitation, she chose Rapunzel.

Rapunzel 2

It’s cute, right? πŸ˜‰

Right after I registered, I happened to find two purple Under Armour tanks on the clearance rack at my local sporting goods store. I snapped them up. I wore one while I was training, to be sure I liked the fit and feel of it. I saved the other for the actual costume. I added soft pink elastic to make the front look like the bodice of Rapunzel’s dress, and I added ribbon sleeves using a tutorial I found here.

Rapunzel 1

My favorite part of the costume? The fun Team Sparkle skirt and visor! I cannot wait to rock those on race day. If you need a racing costume, go check them out. They have skirts in every color of the rainbow, and loads of other fun stuff, like sleeves, wings, race legs, t-shirts… I love it!

I found Pascal in an Etsy shop called 2 Moms Designs. He is the perfect size to pin on my shoulder…or somewhere. He’s the only part of the costume I haven’t totally figured out.

I finished my last long run before the race last night – 14 miles in 2:27, with an average pace of 10:30-ish. This detour from North Dakota may have been a blessing in disguise. At home, I have only been able to run indoors. Since I’m in Tennessee, I got to do this last one outside, with hills and temperatures in the 50’s. For my last long run, I ran 13.1 in 2:14. I checked the ol’ GPS watch at 13.1 yesterday, and my time was 2:19. I was pretty pleased, considering I haven’t been able to run on pavement since November. Now, the only thing left to do is pray that it isn’t super hot in Orlando in two weeks.

Don’t worry, I’ll share pics of myself in the costume once I finally get to wear it.

Tagged , , ,

15 thoughts on “Run – Disney Princess Half Marathon Costume

  1. Jess says:

    Pascal belongs on your shoulder. Which ever one is the most comfortable is best. Your costume rocks so hard. Good luck!!

  2. Katherine Hunt says:

    I love it! can’t wait to see it on!!! you are going to rock it!!!

  3. Diane Parish says:

    That is very creative. I am looking forward to seeing a picture of you wearing it.

  4. MrsG says:

    This is FABULOUS! It almost ALMOST makes me want to run.

  5. Candy says:

    I can’t wait to see pics of you wearing it! Your run time is awesome!!! Where did you get your little thingy that goes around your waist? What all will it hold? Thank you!!!

  6. Pop says:

    Could Pascal ride on the bill of your cap? Have you tried running with those braids on? They may beat you to death? What about long flowing hair made out of yellow artificial silk?

  7. Mona says:

    how did you attach the ribbon on the front of the shirt? did you sew it? or fabric glue?

    • snapeatrun says:

      I sewed it. And actually, I used fold over elastic instead of ribbon, because I thought it would move with the shirt and feel better. You can find it all over Etsy, and it’s pretty inexpensive. I think Stitch Witchery would also work to attach it. All you have to do is iron that.

  8. […] – I wore a shirt I made, inspired by posts from “This Mama Makes Stuff” and “Snap. Eat. Run.” On my shoulder was Pascal, a crocheted chameleon I found on […]

  9. […] and pink and just super FUN! Not to mention, I’m a big fan of a race where you can wear a sparkly costume and not get funny looks from the other […]

  10. Haley says:

    Did you make the braids?? If so, how??

    • snapeatrun says:

      I did! I cut a whole lot of long lengths of yarn to start. Then, I tied them together at one end, held it down with a clipboard, and braided the rest. I wore the visor, so I could pin them to the sides of my head underneath and use it to help hold them in place.

Leave a Reply

