Eat – Kale & Eggs

DSC_0019When I started my 24-Day Challenge, I had to adjust the way I think about meals. My diet consisted of a heck of a lot of starch and refined sugar, which isn’t completely bad. Those carbs are great when I need to fuel before a long run, but not so great on days when I’m not as active. Add that to the amount of fruits and vegetables I am supposed to be consuming, and I’ve had to start trying new things.

Today’s feature? Kale. Until a couple weeks ago, I had never bought, cooked, or eaten the stuff. On the hunt for new recipes, I ran across a recipe for pan-friend kale in The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Food from My Frontier. I decided to give kale a chance. If PW likes something, I usually like it, too. πŸ˜‰

The recipe is extremely simple. Wash the kale and tear the leaves into pieces, discarding the stems. In a skillet, heat a little bit of extra virgin olive oil, and saute some chopped garlic for a minute or two. Add the kale, season with salt and pepper, and saute for a few minutes. It should be nice and bright green, not too wilted. Voila! Pan-fried kale.

I like to eat mine for lunch alongside a couple of hard-boiled eggs. I think it’s delicious. It’s just too bad no one else in my house will touch it with a 10-foot pole.

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Eat – Kale & Eggs

  1. I started getting fit and had to retrain myself to THINK about food.. for me it was always an afterthought or something you gave time to think about when you were already starving and had 5 minutes to satisfy hunger, usually opting for whatever was easy to microwave!

    I love pan fried Kale…It took awhile to get it right so that it wouldn’t be too undercooked/waxy/hard but it’s really delicious in a stir fry and then wrapped up in a whole grain tortilla, love it!

  2. Margaret says:

    we love Kale! looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

