Health – 24-Day Challenge Progress Report, Day 6

 

Unknown

Today is Day 6 of my 24-Day Challenge. I wanted to wait until I had several days under my belt before posting an update on my progress. As of this morning, I have lost two pounds, half an inch in my waist, 1.5 inches in my belly, and 1 inch on my hips. I honestly didn’t expect to see that kind of change so soon. I’ve been reading that some people don’t start losing until the Max Phase, and for some reason, I assumed I’d be one of those people.

 

The cleanse phase has not been near as scary as I worried it would be. I don’t know if I was eating pretty clean beforehand, but I have not been in the bathroom non-stop. And as long as it’s something that God made, I can still eat it.

Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are supposed to consist of a protein, a vegetable, and a carbohydrate (from a recommended list – we’re not talking about white bread here). I am also allowed a mid-morning and mid-afternoon snack of a fruit and healthy fat. I confess, I have been cheating a little bit. Sometimes, I don’t want a vegetable at breakfast, so I eat a fruit. Other times, I want a vegetable for my snack. Usually, I don’t want a snack in the morning. As long as I’m following the big rules and keeping processed, fatty, and sugary foods out of my diet, I’m not worried.

One of the biggest challenges for me has been figuring out WHAT to eat for breakfast. I think a lot of people must purchase extra meal replacement shakes as an add-on, because in all my searching through challenge cookbooks and websites, breakfast recipes/ideas are scarce. Or it could just be that most people don’t have breakfast ADD like I do. Since it was something I had hoped to find before beginning my 24-Day Challenge, I thought I’d share some of the things that I’ve been eating for breakfast.

Day 1: Oatmeal (McCann’s Irish Steel Cut Oatmeal – only takes 3 minutes on the stove) with sliced banana. You can add a packet of Splenda to the oatmeal while it cooks if you like it sweet.

 

Day 2: Scrambled egg whites with spinach. I start by spraying the skillet with a little Pam and wilt 1 cup of baby spinach. Then, I add 4 beaten egg whites to the skillet and scramble it all together. I think I also ate a small orange with it. That’s something else I do sometimes – use fruits as my carbohydrates.

 

Day 3: Green smoothie. In the blender, combine 1 banana, 1 cup baby spinach, 1-2 tablespoons almond butter, a handful of ice cubes, 1 packet of Splenda, and about ¼ cup of water. Protein, veggie, carbohydrate – bam! I was worried that I’d be hungry in 5 minutes the first time I made this for breakfast. I shouldn’t have been. It is awesome.

 

Day 4: Oatmeal with sliced strawberries.

 

Day 5: Green smoothie. See? I liked it so much, I had to have one again!

 

Day 6: Scrambled eggs with tomato, onion, and dill. I found this idea in an Elie Krieger cookbook I borrowed from the library. Seed and dice a Roma tomato, and chop up a little bit of onion. Spray a skillet with oil, and sauté the onion for a couple of minutes. Add the tomato for a minute or two to warm it up. Remove the onion-tomato mixture from the skillet and set aside. In a bowl, I combined two egg whites and one whole egg. (I wanted a little bit of yellow today) Spray the pan again, and scramble the eggs. Top the eggs with the tomato and onions, and sprinkle some fresh dill on there, too. Yummy. If you don’t have a lot of time, just eat your eggs with salsa.

Those are my breakfast ideas so far. I will definitely share as I come up with more. Sorry I don’t have any photos. I’ll have to start remembering to photograph my food.

I’m excited about my Challenge progress so far. I feel good. My energy level is awesome, which I could not have imagined would have happened so quickly. I haven’t had coffee in 6 days, and I haven’t really missed it. I have been drinking my Spark, more as a precaution (in case I need it, or in case I was going to get a caffeine headache) than because I actually feel like I need it. This morning, I even woke up early, and I didn’t want to shoot myself, which is kind of a big deal.

I won’t lie and say I don’t want to cheat sometimes. I want to, but I have managed to avoid temptation so far. Even when I picked up Taco John’s for the kids after ice skating lessons and the potato oles were begging for me to eat one, I held strong. I’m not kidding. They were pathetic. Sorry, guys.

I’ll update again once I finish the cleanse and move on to max phase.

 

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Health – 24-Day Challenge Progress Report, Day 6

  1. Mom says:

    Did God make Splenda? 🙂

  2. Katherine Hunt says:

    Did you ever have any other breakfast combos? I am finding myself really tired of egg whites and it is only day 3! LOL I do have the oatmeal I am going to try that smoothie this week!

Leave a Reply

