Project – Stenciled Hoodie

DSC_0002

I got a really cool new gadget for Christmas this year – the Silhouette Cameo. For a couple of years now, I’ve been watching all of the projects other bloggers make with their Silhouette and wishing that I had one. I finally asked for it this year.

It has taken me this long to decide what to try first. I had this navy blue hoodie I bought a while back, just chilling in the closet. I’ve never worn it, because I always intended to applique it or something. Why not paint it?

DSC_0004

I used the Silhouette to cut a stencil out of Contact Paper. Then, I used fabric paint and filled in my design. I was a little too eager, though. I realized on the second coat of paint that I didn’t get my stencil laid down perfectly flat, and there were some bubbles around the edges of the letters. I tried to hold them down while I painted to prevent it from bleeding outside the stencil, but I didn’t do the best job. See?

DSC_0005

The “u” is especially drippy. In hindsight, I should have also made the word smaller and left off the period. It looked great lying flat on the ironing board, but a little funny once I put it on. No worries, though. I can wear it to the gym or as a hidden layer on super cold days.

Next, I think I will be trying heat transfer vinyl. I’ve ordered some for some t-shirts I want to make. They look really cute in my head. I hope they turn out well. I’ll share once all my materials show up and I get them finished.

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Project – Stenciled Hoodie

  1. Mary says:

    That’s really cool! Well done

  2. Bridgette says:

    Nice! I just got mine about 2 weeks ago!

  3. I wish I was half as crafty right now! I used to love crafting but haven’t been into it for awhile…I leave that to my aunt and cousin who are just naturally more patient and crafty than I am!

Leave a Reply

