Run – Fighting Weight

Although this is a popular topic in January each year, my choice to discuss weight has nothing to do with a resolution and everything to do with the fact that I have a race coming up in a little under six weeks. My weight generally fluctuates within about a ten-pound range (five pounds under and over what I should actually maintain).

Right now, I’m at the five pounds over mark. This is pretty common for me during the winter. It’s cold. I’m staying indoors. I’m (usually) less active. I eat more comfort foods. I’ve been making a lot of excuses, too. It’s been the holiday season, and it’s too hard to resist all the wonderful food. Once Christmas is over, I’ll eat better. I also like to tell myself that the extra weight I’m carrying is muscle, because I’ve been training for a race. Ha! I wish that were true, but I know I’m delusional.

It’s time to get back down to my fighting weight. I’m putting myself at a disadvantage before I even cross the starting line if I’m running five pounds heavy. I have read that 10 pounds can affect your pace by 20 seconds per mile. For a shorter race, meh. It doesn’t add up to much. In a longer race, it can make a big difference. For me, it could mean the difference in whether or not a set a new PR. (I’m trying to beat 2:37:44)

This is a light week for me mileage-wise, so I chose Sunday to start counting calories, eating more whole foods, and focusing on being healthy for the race in addition to having trained.

In the same vein, very soon the man and I are both going to start something new, and hopefully awesome. We’re going to do the Advocare 24-Day Challenge. We’re hoping to lose weight, tone up, and just feel better. And in a totally unplanned move, we also signed up to be Advocare distributors. If you decide you’d like to try it along with us, let me know! If you click that link up there, it’ll take you to our website. Please don’t judge too harshly. We don’t really have a “story” yet, per se, so the site is really generic with no personal information about us.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

