Eat – Homemade Marinara

At our house, we like to know what we’re getting when it’s time to eat. I will not tell you that we’re super hard core and don’t buy anything processed or feed our kids Goldfish crackers or fruit snacks, because 1) it’d be a lie, and 2) our children would starve. We are gradually changing the way we look at food, though, and hopefully our preferences will eventually rub off on the kids.

It all started last Christmas when John requested the meat grinding attachment for our Kitchen Aid. You heard me. I thought he was completely nuts. But now, almost a full year later, we grind our own hamburger meat and make sausage like it’s no big deal. With no filler and preservatives, it tastes a lot better than what you buy in the store, and it’s nice to know we’re not eating a bunch of extra junk in our ground meats.

I recently saw a recipe online for homemade marinara sauce. Super simple, so I decided to give it a try. Guess what? I love it! Now, I will know exactly what’s in the sauce when we have spaghetti, make pizzas, etc.

I adjusted the recipe to our tastes, and I will share how I made the sauce.

Homemade Marinara

8-10 tomatoes, I mixed Roma and on-the-vine

1/2 yellow or white onion

garlic, 4-5 cloves, peeled

olive oil

basil

thyme

salt & pepper

tomato sauce, 8 oz.

Chop all that mess up, and load it into a roasting pan. Toss it with olive oil, salt & pepper. Stick it in the oven on 200 degrees F for about 3 hours. I got a little eager and took mine out about 15 minutes early, and it turned out fine. You want everything to be nice and mushy. Put it in a blender or food processor and puree. Add your can of tomato sauce and puree some more. The sauce should be pretty smooth. Taste it, and season the sauce as needed. You could probably even add some Parmesan or Romano and give it a cheesy flavor at this point. I’ll try that next time. I’ll probably add more garlic, too. 🙂

I ended up with two pint-sized jars of marinara sauce. I’m not even worrying about canning it or sealing them up, because we’ll use those suckers fast. If you think you won’t get to it for a while, you should either can it (with a pressure cooker, because of the acidity of the tomatoes, bacteria, blah, blah, blah) or freeze it (easy-peasy!).

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

