Run – Disney’s Princess Half Marathon

Disney’s Princess Half Marathon. I have dreamed of running this race even before I knew I could make it 13.1 miles without dying. In February 2013, I’m going to do it! I love running, and I love all things Disney, so it’s a no-brainer. I’ll be meeting a friend or two in Florida, and we’re making a girls’ weekend out of it. I could not be more excited, and I’ve got to wait nearly four months until it’s time to go. πŸ™‚

That said, it feels good to have a goal again. I’m not very good at maintaining my distance when I don’t actually have a reason to. I started looking at some training calendars last week and realized that if I really intend to run this race, it’s time to get to work!

I’m trying a different training plan this time. On the Run Disney website, there are a few Jeff Galloway training plans to choose from. I read through them and decided to give the Experienced Runner, Goal: To Finish in the Upright Position plan a try. (I used one Hal Higdon’s Novice programs back in the spring.)

The new plan only requires two maintenance runs and one long run each week. I can work these in on the three days a week that both kiddos are at school. This plan allows for more rest days in between runs and seems a little more laid-back. Because it’s more flexible, I’ll be adding more cross-training than I was able to before. Since I will likely be doing a lot of running indoors due to the weather at my new location, I’m hoping this will keep me from getting really bored with the track and treadmill at the gym.

The only part of the Jeff Galloway plan that I’m unsure about trying is his run-walk-run method. I may try it on a long run and see what I think. (If anyone has opinions on this, I would love to hear them. ) You essentially choose the pace you’re trying to maintain, and run and walk at a certain ratio for the entire run. At my usual pace, I would be running three minutes and walking for one minute. It seems like that would get to feeling really choppy. I don’t know. I’m not opposed to walk breaks. I just don’t know if I need one every three minutes. Again, we’ll see.

I’ll keep you posted throughout my training. I’m only one week in, so there’s not much new or exciting happening thus far.

 

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Run – Disney’s Princess Half Marathon

  1. John says:

    Good luck with your training! I completed my first half yesterday, it was great but difficult in parts. πŸ™‚

  2. Maura says:

    I’ve always wanted to do the Disney Princess Half. Just not in the cards for 2013.

    I have some experience with the Galloway method. I did a group training for my last half, and the 2:30 pace group ran/walked. It was very tempting to run with them, because I’d be running my pace, and they’d catch up with me, then drop back, then catch up with me again. So one week I did, but what I found is that the faster running periods (in order to walk) tired me out more than just going my normal pace. I’m pretty good at pacing myself, so it’s just not really for me.

Leave a Reply

