Eat – Potato Leek Soup

Who else saw 2009’s Julie & Julia and went straight to Amazon to order this book? Because I’m totally guilty. Even though poor Julie nearly had a nuclear meltdown trying to cook her way through it, the movie still made me feel like I could master French cooking. Do you know what else I’m totally guilty of? Not even cracking the book open until three years later. Oops!

I don’t know what suddenly possessed me to thumb through it yesterday, but I’m glad I did. I found a simple recipe to attempt first, made it for dinner last night, and I have totally boosted my own confidence.

What did I make? Potato Leek Soup. Or if you’re interested in the French, Potage Parmentier. It is seriously delicious. I will be eating the leftovers for lunch all week, and I am excited!

Here’s what you do…

Dice up 1 pound peeled potatoes, and slice 1 pound of leeks.

Let me just take a moment to say, “Mmm…leeks…” I had never touched a leek until a couple February’s ago when my better half and I got snowed in with four kids in the house. We made the best chicken pot pie ever for dinner one night, and it called for leeks. My mind was forever changed. It wasn’t that I didn’t like leeks, I just wasn’t familiar with them. Now, I think they’re super great. πŸ˜‰

Moving right along…

Put your leeks and potatoes in a big stock pot, add 1 tablespoon salt (I used sea salt), and cover with 2 quarts of water. Partially cover the pot, and simmer for about 45 minutes. The vegetables should be tender.

The next step says to mash the vegetables with a fork, or run the soup through a food mill. I pulled out the old immersion blender. This little gadget may have been the best $20 I ever spent. I don’t know why I put off buying one for so long, but making soups has been a breeze ever since.

Once the soup is nice and smooth, season it to taste with salt and pepper. Mine didn’t need any salt, but I did throw in some ground black pepper.

Julia Child’s recipe has some variations you can choose from to finish the soup off, and I chose to add 4 to 6 tablespoons heavy cream.

Mix that all in. Mmm… The other option she gave was butter, which I’m sure would be equally delicious.

She also recommends garnishing the soup with minced parsley or chives, but I had neither. Please excuse it for looking a little bit boring in the bowl up there. Pretty or not, it was soooo good. This soup is rich, hearty, and filling. I will definitely be making it again.

Is this the beginning of me stockpiling soup recipes for cold, North Dakota winter nights? Probably.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Eat – Potato Leek Soup

  1. Norma Sharp says:

    Let’s see, I’ve been cooking now for 60 years plus and leeks is one of the few things I’ve never bought much less cooked and it takes someone two generations younger to get my attention. Store here I come for some leeks. I do love soup.

Leave a Reply

