Eat – Microwave Popcorn

Were you expecting me to recommend you go out and buy a box of Act II or Pop Secret? Not happening. We are, as a general rule, big fans of stove-popped popcorn around here. I usually do keep a box of the microwave variety around for when I’m feeling lazy, but by the time we get around to using the last few, they gross me out. They’ve been marinating in their own grease for so long that sometimes it is even leaking out of the plastic bag. Yikes!

I had a tip from a friend today, and I could not even wait three hours to try it. (Thanks, Lynley!) It was the perfect afternoon snack. All you need is a brown paper bag, a stapler, popcorn kernels, oil, and salt.

Here’s what you do:

1. Pour 1/4 cup popcorn kernels in the bottom of the brown paper bag.

2. Drizzle with oil. I will leave what kind up to you. My friend recommended olive oil. I don’t like a strong oil flavor on my popcorn, so I used canola. I think the type of oil you use is all about personal preference.

3. Fold the top of the bag over and staple. I used two. They did not spark. My microwave did not explode. Don’t panic.

4. Shake the bag to coat the popcorn kernels with oil.

5. Microwave. I just pushed the “Popcorn” button on my microwave. If you don’t have a popcorn button, set your microwave for 3-4 minutes on high and listen for it to stop popping.

6. Pour in a bowl, salt, and eat. (I think my friend actually added the salt before microwaving, but I forgot to do it then. It still tasted good when I added the salt afterward.)

I think Lynley said she discovered this method of popping popcorn watching Alton Brown. I personally have not seen the episode, as I only watch television that is automatically set up to record on my DVR. Regardless, it’s delicious, and I’m glad to have the real estate in the pantry back from the box of Act II, or Pop Secret, or whatever it was…

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

