Eat – Low Calorie Lunch


When I returned home from Spring Break, I started counting calories. Before anybody jumps all over me about how I don’t need to lose weight – I know. That’s not really the point this time around. I knew without a race looming in the future, I wouldn’t be putting quite as much mileage on the ol’ legs. I’m adjusting my eating habits to compensate, so I don’t blow up like a balloon until I decide to train for another race.

I made this yummy low calorie lunch the other day, and I enjoyed it so much I thought I’d share. It’s easy and fresh, and if you’re trying to avoid processed foods, it almost nails it. Almost.

To make my chicken salad, I combined 3 ounces of chopped chicken (I had some leftover from dinner earlier in the week), 1 stalk of celery, chopped, a dash of white wine vinegar, 1/2 tbsp. mayonnaise, and a little bit of salt and pepper. Mix that all up in a bowl. I really like fresh dill in my chicken salad. If you have some, add it. I didn’t have any this time. Scoop the chicken salad into romaine lettuce leaves and eat taco-style. I also included a side of carrots and hummus for a total calorie count of 376.

It’s filling and delicious and doesn’t look too shabby on the plate. Very colorful.

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

