Running – Jitters

My posts have been few and far between lately. I apologize for that. I’ve been busy with a birthday, work, training, and I’ve fallen off the wagon. I think I have four Project 52 photos to catch up on. Oops!

My first half marathon – the Rock and Roll Half Marathon in Dallas – is this Sunday. I’ve done all the training I can. I’ll be walking and taking it easy for the next couple of days, and I’ll be doing a lot of praying. Praying that I survive it. Praying that I can get a good night’s sleep before the race. (I spent half the night on the couch last night, because I was paranoid about keeping John awake with all my thrashing about awake in the wee hours of the morning.)

I did not expect to be so anxious about it. That was probably naive of me. This is a big deal, and it’s completely new to me. Why wouldn’t I be anxious?

I’m also worried because in the midst of all my anxiety, I’ve lost four pounds this week. Unintentionally. I’m worried that lighter means weaker. I’m not sure why my brain is translating it that way. I will try my best to focus on the positive. Lighter means faster! 😉

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Running – Jitters

  1. museikchik says:

    I am running my first RnR half-marathon in June so know exactly what you mean. Don’t be nervous. It is your first one. Just have fun with it. Besides, how many people do u know who can say they have finished a half-marathon? Good luck!!!! 🙂

  2. Norma Sharp says:

    I’ve heard that perfect is the enemy of good.

  3. gencojournal says:

    good luck on your first half today! you’re going to do great. 😀

Leave a Reply

