Eat – Chocolate Peanut Butter Dip

A few weeks ago, I unearthed my copy of Jessica Seinfeld’s Deceptively Delicious. I found it in the clearance bin at the bookstore a few years ago and decided it was worth a shot, considering the only vegetables Aidan eats are corn and potatoes. He won’t eat any kind of fruit.

When I originally purchased the book, I made some purees and tried a few recipes with no success. I couldn’t even get him to try what I’d made. Since he’s become a little more adventurous lately and is willing to try new things, I thought it was worth another shot.

This Chocolate Peanut Butter Dip has carrot hidden inside. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

1/2 cup (creamy) peanut butter

1/2 cup cream cheese

6 tbsp. chocolate syrup

1/4 cup carrot puree (You can make your own, or you can substitute baby food carrots.)

1/2 tsp. salt

Just mix everything together until it’s smooth. The serving suggestion in the cookbook is fruit slices. Neely and I ate apples, but I added graham crackers to the plate for Aidan.

Of course, I was nervous as heck the first time I presented it to them. I feared they could sense the subterfuge. When they asked me what it was, I told them, “It’s chocolate peanut butter dip. It tastes like a Reese’s peanut butter cup.” According to Aidan, I think everything tastes like candy, but in this case, it’s pretty much true. And it worked! They love it! The afternoon snack has gotten a makeover.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

