Running – Bulldog Bolt/10K

Several days ago, I started stalking the weather reports. Why? Because my first 10K was this morning, and by Wednesday, I was seeing 100 percent chance of rain on the weather. 100 percent! I mean, come on. How can they be that sure? By last night, the chance was 80 percent, but the giant cloud looming on the radar didn’t look too promising.

They were right. When I woke this morning, the back yard resembled a swimming pool, and the sky showed no signs of relenting. I got dressed and headed out to tackle the 10K in some mighty cold rain. And when I say mighty cold, do remember that I am in Louisiana, where 45 degrees is cold this winter, because we haven’t seen it too often. I expect no pity from my northern friends.

Here I am, ready to go…sans shoes. (I pulled the old ones back out. I didn’t really feel up to soaking my shiny new shoes through just yet.)

On a normal day, my husband probably would have brought the kids out to watch, especially since part of the course came through our neighborhood. The weather being what it was, they stayed dry and warm and watched cartoons instead. Baby girl was not happy about this. She pouted and clung to me until her daddy peeled her off me so I could leave. At least she got her own bottle of Gatorade out of the deal.

I will not lie. The race was tough at the beginning. I hadn’t taken gloves, because I knew after a mile or two, I wouldn’t want them. The rain poured, and the wind blew directly at us. I stuck with a friend, which definitely helps the time pass more quickly, and it isn’t bad to have someone to commiserate with. A few miles in, the rain let up a little bit, and we didn’t feel so bad – except for the squish in our shoes.

I finished in 1:03:54. I was the fourth female in my age group for the 10K, which is probably largely due to the fact that the weather kept lots of folks home. I am proud of my effort. I would love to be faster next time, but I feel very good about getting the first 10K under my belt.

I made my husband take post-race pictures at home. Neely was very happy to see me back. We did a happy dance together…or maybe I was dancing and she was looking at me like I’m a crazy person. The second is what you get when you’re used to being behind the camera and someone points one at you for too long. It’s too bad I didn’t get a photo of the gnarly, curly ponytail I had going on in the back thanks to the rain. That took some work to get combed out.

Now? I will do my very best to stay warm and dry for the remainder of the day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Running – Bulldog Bolt/10K

  1. Lady Deidre says:

    Congratulations! Great job! Just jogging would have been tough enough — let alone battling the rain. 🙂
    God Bless You!

  2. zumbawithshelley says:

    That’s Awesome Audra!! 😀

Leave a Reply

