Run – Rainy Day

When I woke last Friday morning, my long run day, the sky looked like this:

I was battling a pretty gnarly cold at the time, so I accepted it as a sign to take an extra rest day before attempting a long run. I ended up taking three extra, for a total of four. Yikes! I felt like a lazy person by Monday, when I regrouped and started training again. I saved last Friday’s mileage for today.

When I woke up today? That photo can pretty much sum it up again. It was 45 degrees and rainy, and the weather man wasn’t predicting anything else for the day. Neely and I recited the ever-popular poem, “Rain, rain, go away. Come again another day,” for good measure. By the time I left the house to start ferrying children to school, it was no longer pouring, but I was still afraid of getting a few miles in and ending up soaked to the bone. I’m no weenie, but I’m not about to go begging for that cold to come back.

After dropping the first round of kids off, I made a last-minute decision to swing back by the house and pick up my gear. I’m so glad I did. It sprinkled a bit as I set out, but the rain held for my entire 10-mile run. That’s right. I made it to 10. We’re into the double-digits! The even better news is that I pulled it off in 1:48. That’s a 10:48 per mile pace, which is right on track with where I want to be for the race in March.

And the rain? It started back up again after I got home. It’s almost like it stopped just for me. 😉

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Run – Rainy Day

  1. Katherine Hunt says:

    great job!!!! and a great pace!!!

  2. DrRachelRuns says:

    Gorgeous picture. Sometimes running the in the rain is great – sometimes not so much.

Leave a Reply

