Eat – Homemade Tortillas

At the beginning of the year, while perusing the internet for new, healthy recipes to try, I found a recipe on Tasty Kitchen for homemade tortillas. Actually, she called them “Healthy Homemade Tortillas,” because they were made with organic wheat flour. If that’s your thing, by all means, use it. At my house, if a flour tortilla isn’t white, nobody’s going to come anywhere near it, much less eat it. I un-healthied the recipe by using standard all-purpose flour. And just so you know, I’m just going to cut and paste the original recipe and throw my pictures in there for looks. 🙂

Here’s what you need:

3 cups flour

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/3 cup canola oil

1 cup hot water

Mix the flour, salt, and baking powder with a whisk. Add the canola oil and mix with your fingers until all the oil is incorporated and the mixture looks like fine crumbs.

Add 1 cup of hot water and mix until a ball is formed.

Cover with plastic wrap and let the dough rest for about 30 minutes.(I made my dough early in the day and refrigerated it until I was ready to use it.)

 

Divide the dough into 12 balls (or 10, because that’s all I managed) and roll out one at a time on a floured surface. (Don’t worry if they’re not very round. Mine weren’t. I think you need a special gadget for that.)

Brush off excess flour. Cook on a hot, ungreased griddle over medium-high heat.

Turn the tortilla when brown blisters form on the first side. Stack the tortillas and serve warm.

And done! Having been to the Alamo Cafe in San Antonio in the recent past and gorging myself on fresh tortillas, I can honestly say that these were really good…and as close to an Alamo Cafe tortilla as I’m going to get in Louisiana. Enjoy! Let me know how yours turn out if you try them.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

