Running – The Race

I have chosen my first race – the Rock ‘n’ Roll 1/2 Marathon in Dallas on March 25th. I am excited! It was fun to begin training, but now that I have a specific race to look forward to, it’s even better.

Here’s how last week’s training went.

Monday, January 9 – 3 miles, morning run, indoor track. Holy thunderstorm! It rained cats & dogs all night and kept going into the morning. I was hoping for an outdoor run, since I’ll have a little one with me tomorrow and will have to run at the gym where there’s childcare. Oh, well. The weather forced me inside. I kept about a 10-minute pace.

Tuesday, January 10 – 4 miles, morning run, indoor track. It’s still raining, so I didn’t feel so bad about having to run inside. I was slow today. 4 miles in 42:45. I blame my music choice – the Mamma Mia! soundtrack. Hopefully, I can be outside tomorrow!

Wednesday, January 11 – 3 miles, morning run, outdoors. We traded the rain for wind. At least I was outside, though. The path I ran today is only 3/4 mile, so I still had to do a little bit of running in circles, but four times around is much more tolerable (and easier to count) than 36 times around. I made 3 miles in 29 minutes, even with the wind. Woo! Woo!

Thursday, January 12 – Rest.

Friday, January 13 – 7 miles, morning run, outdoors. Boy, was it cold! I put Jack Johnson on the iPod and imagined I was in Hawaii. Other than that, everything was smooth sailing. I finished in 66 minutes, so I feel awesome about my speed.

Saturday & Sunday, January 14 & 15 – I had family visiting, so I skipped my cross-training day and rested for two days.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Running – The Race

  1. Katherine Hunt says:

    you are speedy!! Great job!! looks like the training is going really well!!! I need to up my miles! I am good if I can get in 3 runs in during the week… need to try for 4 days each week!

  2. Amy says:

    I just did a Rock n Roll race this weekend at it was awesome! You have people cheering you on the entire way. Great choice for your first race!

Leave a Reply

