Running – Training Plan

A few days ago, I promised to share what training plan I have chosen to use as I prepare to run a half marathon. I did my best to “shop” different plans before deciding. There is a whole lot of information available, and no two plans are just alike. I looked at several that incorporated more cross-training and things like hard runs or speed runs, but ultimately, I chose Hal Higdon’s Novice 2. I think it suits me best. Novice 2 only has one cross-training day built in, but I am free to lift weights after my bi-weekly short runs if I so choose. This plan also focuses more on finishing than on speed, and for my first half marathon, my two main goals are 1) finishing, and 2) training and finishing the race without injuring myself.

I picked my training plan in the middle of last week, and I’m having to adjust the days a little to suit my schedule. I also started with Week 3 of the Novice 2 program, as far as my long run distance goes. Here’s the rundown of how last week went.

Sunday, January 1 – 2 miles, morning run, outside.

Monday, January 2 – Rest.

Tuesday, January 3 – 1.5 miles, morning run, outside. It was 23 degrees Fahrenheit this morning. I usually don’t run if it’s less than 40 degrees out, a habit that I know I need to break if I’m going to train consistently. I made the dog come with me. 🙂

Wednesday, January 4 – 3.5 miles, morning run, outside. I’m a little tired of running in circles around the neighborhood. It’s time to find a trail.

Thursday, January 5 – Rest.

Friday, January 6 – 6 miles, morning run, outside. I found an outdoor trail that runs alongside the river. It was really foggy and misty when I started. I wish I’d had my camera, actually. Anyway, I was really anxious about this run, like, give myself a tummy-ache anxious. This is the first time I’ve attempted anything farther than 3 or 4 miles without stopping. I made sure to keep a slow, steady pace the entire time, and I did it! I finished 6 miles in 1 hour, 10 minutes, which I am not terribly ashamed of.

Saturday, January 7 – Cross-train, 30 minutes walking with dog.

 

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Running – Training Plan

  1. Amy says:

    Congratulations on starting your training, especially in the middle of winter, and congratulations on your first 6 mile run!

  2. Katherine Hunt says:

    did you run on teague? I run there when I take Adriana to school. it is a good trail… the base has a decent trail as well… Stephen would go up to lakewood to run as well when he was training. Good luck with your training! !I want to get up to a half eventually! When is your half?

Leave a Reply

