Bloggers are not experts.

 

For me, the shine wore off of Martha Stewart a while ago. I used to buy her magazines, until I realized they aren’t written for real people. Most of the recipes and craft ideas I pored over in those pages were too complicated to translate into real life. Don’t even get me started on her wedding magazines. If only we all had an unlimited budget. When I watched her version of The Apprentice, it sealed the deal. She just didn’t seem…nice. I’m sorry. It just doesn’t matter to me how many perfect pies you can bake if you’re not a nice person.

Now, there’s this…

If I wasn’t already disenchanted with this woman, I most definitely would be now. The interviewer is on my list, too. Why are these women such snobs? Do you know what? Interviewer lady? I don’t even know who you are. Yeah, I said it. Get over yourself. You think social media is in poor taste, but I’ll bet you were checking your Facebook and Twitter pages on your break, maybe even Instagram. Funny thing, that.

And Martha. Martha, Martha, Martha. Bloggers are not experts. That’s a pretty open-ended accusation that you’re making, about a whole heck of a lot of people you know nothing about. Do you know what I blog about? My life. If I’m not the expert here, I don’t know who is. I’d like to see you try and get my girl dressed in the morning. No, really. I would bet money Martha couldn’t do it. She would demand Neely wear something “tasteful,” and she’s probably get something thrown at her. It happens to me often enough. And the last time I checked (which was about five minutes ago, by the way), Martha Stewart never studied at the CIA. She learned to cook by, well, cooking. I’m pretty sure she doesn’t have any kind of special degree or anything that might make one consider her to be an expert in sewing or creating, either. It’s laughable that she speaks in such a manner about bloggers’ expertise. Most are doing exactly what she did to end up where she is today. Except probably not insider trading. (Ooooh…I said it.)

My opinion? She feels threatened. Proof? Martha Stewart Omnimedia stock prices have gone down in the last year, like a lot. This New York Times article told me so.

Through Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest, we’re looking to one another for ideas, not snobby rich ladies who know nothing about the way we live our lives. I think that’s how it should be. So bloggers, keep up the good work. Post your recipes and your crafts and your sewing projects. Make fun printables for the holidays, and share them with us. Put Martha Stewart out of business, and don’t feel bad about it. She’s not a nice lady, anyway. She thinks we have poor taste. Who needs her?

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Bloggers are not experts.

  1. Robin Ritter says:

    You are an awesome writer and passionate about you do and write. You are way above Martha and you are a nice person!:)) You go girl or “Keep Going” as Granny would always said!

    Love you,

    Aunt Robin

  2. Maureen says:

    I have always been a big fan of Martha Stewart. She is creative, clever and talented. She has built an empire on that and is a multimillionaire many times over. The problem is that Martha has become a dinosaur, out of date. She is so insulated from the daily struggles we all face that she has forgotten what it is like to be without multiple homes and staff to run them!

    The comment she made about bloggers were short sighted and insulting and showed contempt for the very people who are her most ardent fans. She should have remembered that it is the ordinary little people who have put her where she is today. Those who had no hope of emulating her lifestyle but wanted to recreate a small piece of that lifestyle by creating one of her recipes or crafts or purchasing any of her homeware products.

    I think she should be truly ashamed of herself. She is total snob and her comments have totally changed my perception of her.

    I have just started my own blog (fofali.com) about being over 50 and short of money. Can you get a degree for that? No, it’s called life experience. Something which is not familiar to Martha Stewart. I don’t expect to build an empire it is for my own enjoyment and to share with those of similar interests.

    So come on Martha re-connect with your fans who are the ordinary people of this world and get real!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 240 other followers

